Embedded Files
Melanesia Art Grade Level: 3-5 6-8 9-12
Melanesia Art Grade Level: 3-5 6-8 9-12
Nearly 1,800 different cultures are found in the islands of the South Pacific Ocean that make up an area covering one-third of the Earth’s surface. The galleries containing the art from these island countries are divided geographically into several areas, but these pages will cover Melanesia, subdivided into New Guinea and Island Melanesia. New Guinea has more than eight hundred distinct people cultures, which makes it the most diverse island in Oceania. Advance the gallery to view ceremonial art and masks, ancestor poles, and ceremonial house ceiling. Click on the link to see all 455 items in the gallery.
Topic: Melanesia, Art
Language: English
Image collection
Archives, Memory, and Conservation Grade Level: 6-8 9-12
Archives, Memory, and Conservation Grade Level: 6-8 9-12
Artistic archives include sketches, preliminary drawings, or other preparatory materials for an artist's work. While they may contain mistakes, they provide a glimpse into the artist's thought process. They reveal the challenges of creating a particular work and the progression of the artist's skill and style. Audio archives are like a juke box with clips from different artists, letters read aloud, or synthesized sound effects. Performance archives include photographs, recordings, and film. Home videos, scrapbooks, and artifacts provide background information for biographies and museum exhibits. An art historian documented the lives of German artists interned in a British internment camp.
Topic: Historic preservation, Art
Language: English
Video
The Learning Network - Fine Arts Grade Level: 9-12
The Learning Network - Fine Arts Grade Level: 9-12
Are you looking for resources that discuss the fine arts? The Learning Network is an excellent resource that is associated with the New York Times. Each week during the school year, new lesson plans are added to the website relating to articles from the newspaper. In this section of the educational blog you will find articles that discuss music, painting, sculpture, plays, and movies. These lesson plans feature current articles, as well as, archived information.
Topic: Art, Music, Movies
Language: English
News Source
Scholastic Art and Writing Awards Grade Level: 6-8 9-12
Scholastic Art and Writing Awards Grade Level: 6-8 9-12
The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards has been around since 1923, recognizing the outstanding talents among the nation’s youth and offering an opportunity for their creativity to be noticed. The Awards has recognized the early talents of artists like Andy Warhol, writers Sylvia Plath, Truman Capote, and Joyce Carol Oates, photographer Richard Avedon, actors Robert Redford, Alan Arkin, and John Lithgow, filmmaker Ken Burns, all of whom won at one time or other. The Awards works through regional programs for teens in grades 7 through 12 in 28 categories of art and writing for their chance to earn scholarships.
Topic: Contests, Art, Composition (Language arts)
Language: English
Lexile: 1470L
Making Art with Everyday Objects: Christoph Niemann Grade Level: 3-5 6-8 9-12
Making Art with Everyday Objects: Christoph Niemann Grade Level: 3-5 6-8 9-12
Award-winning artist Christoph Niemann doesn’t have to buy tons of art supplies to create art. He sees art in everyday objects around his house that most of us fail to see. A paintbrush turns into a flowing grass skirt. A pair of green-handled scissors turns into the legs of a sitting woman. A set of headphones makes a fearsome gorilla face. A jointed measuring tape and screwdriver turns into a bird. And there are many more. Niemann uses colored markers to finish the imaginative work so the rest of us can see what he sees.
Topic: Art Language: English
Lexile: 1050L
Video
KQED Art School Grade Level: 6-8 9-12
KQED Art School Grade Level: 6-8 9-12
With the touch of a button, you can be exposed to so many aspects of the arts in KQED’s Art School, including photography, filmmaking, animation, dance, music, printmaking, crochet, sculpture, and art. Within art, learn about color, line, shape, illustrating, texture, stenciling, portraiture, and graffiti. You’ll definitely see some new perspectives and original ideas, find beauty where it’s not so obvious, and see through different artists’ eyes. You would think most all art has been done before in some form or fashion, but with innovative technology and changing times, original art continues to form.
Topic: Art, Art and technology, Photography, Dance
Language: English
Video
URL: http://ww2.kqed.org
It's Fun to Read! Grade Level: PreK-2
It's Fun to Read! Grade Level: PreK-2
Visit this interactive site that focuses on reading while learning about art and music. Learn about the great composers Beethoven, Chopin, Joplin, Mozart, and others and listen to a jukebox of their music. Build an avatar of yourself and your pet, learn the parts of the body, match the words to things in your kitchen, your bathroom and living room. Read or hear some fun poetry, create some online magic, try saying some tongue twisters, or solve some bird riddles.
Topic: Reading, Music, Riddles, Art
Language: English
Audio
Educational game
Interactive
Music
ArtPad -- A Collection. A Connection. Grade Level: 6-8 9-12
ArtPad -- A Collection. A Connection. Grade Level: 6-8 9-12
In both English and French, this web site invites you to experience contemporary art. You are encouraged to learn about the art and the artists. You can ask questions, voice your opinion and bring your own art to life. Search the gallery to see different works of art. The explore tab leads to a timeline, artist interviews and a glossary. The questions can help you choose a direction to explore. The interact tab lets you view art created in the studio and ask questions of the curator. Try the play tab to create your own masterpiece.
Topic: Art
Language: English, French
Lexile: 1110L
ArtBabble Grade Level: 6-8 9-12
ArtBabble Grade Level: 6-8 9-12
Artists and those learning about art will love this web site from ArtBabble where thousands of instructional and educational videos are available. Use the menu across the top of the home page to find videos according to themes, medium, period and style, location, people and more. The site is from the Indianapolis Museum of Art and the videos are shared by museums and galleries from around the world. You can browse a list of topics and artists or use the search box for a specific keyword.
Topic: Art, Art appreciation
Language: English
Lexile: 1400L
Video
Smith Journal: Bottled History Grade Level: 3-5 6-8 9-12
Smith Journal: Bottled History Grade Level: 3-5 6-8 9-12
Australian Ray Gascoigne grew up around ships; he built boats in a boatyard, and he even worked as a merchant sailor. On his first ship, he saw a bottle with a little ship inside it that a sailor had made as a hobby. Gascoigne was fascinated by it and has been creating ships in bottles now for sixty years. He talks about the materials he uses to build the ships. He first builds the ships outside the bottle, then puts them together inside using long tongs. He feels a great sense of achievement when he finishes them.
Topic: Ships, Art
Language: English
Lexile: 1200L
Video
Licensing Artwork Grade Level: 6-8 9-12
Licensing Artwork Grade Level: 6-8 9-12
Licensing Artwork: Negotiating and Monitoring Royalty Payments. When you create something original, you own the copyright to it unless you assign the copyright over to someone else. When you license your artwork, though, it allows you to receive a royalty from someone else that is using your design for some purpose. Terms related to licensing are defined, such as an ‘advance against royalties’, ‘one-time license fee’, gross and net sales, and deductions. Royalty rates are based on sales or per unit. The royalty rates for greeting cards, gift-wrap, household items, fabrics and apparel, posters and prints, and toys and dolls are given.
Topic: Art, Copyright--Royalties
Language: English
Lexile: 1220L
URL: http://www.nolo.com
Is There a Difference Between Art and Craft? Grade Level: 3-5 6-8
Is There a Difference Between Art and Craft? Grade Level: 3-5 6-8
"Is There a Difference Between Art and Craft?" by Laura Morelli, Analyze the difference between art and crafts. Art brings to mind things like paintings and sculptures, while a vase or quilt might be viewed as crafts. Where do musical instruments and buildings fall within these categories? The great artists of the Renaissance wouldn't have been viewed the same way centuries earlier. Medieval workshops provided a place for apprentices and journeyman to work under a master and guild rules. During the Renaissance, individual creativity gained prominence over workshops. Patrons began to pay based on merit for art. A division occurred between artists and artisans.
Topic: Handicraft, Art
Language: English
Animation
URL: http://ed.ted.com
QAGOMA Kids: Games Grade Level: 3-5 6-8
QAGOMA Kids: Games Grade Level: 3-5 6-8
Check out the games section of this page from the website of the Queensland Art Gallery/Gallery of Modern Art (QAGOMA) for some fun ways to learn about artists from around the world. Be sure to click on the Show More tab to access all the games. Click on one of the 18 games where you will read a lesson about an artist and learn about their art. Then you will have a chance to digitally create a work of art in the style of that artist.
Topic: Art games, Art
Language: English
Educational game Interactive
What Is a Genre? Grade Level: 3-5 6-8
What Is a Genre? Grade Level: 3-5 6-8
Do you have a favorite genre? A genre is a way to divide books or art or music by certain categories or criteria. In literature, the broadest genres are fiction and nonfiction, but those can be divided much further into genres like sports, romance, adventure, horror, fantasy, science fiction, biography, and more. The Greek philosophers Aristotle and Plato developed a literary classification system of three genres: poetry, drama, and prose. Genres of music could include country, pop, rock, classical, etc. Rock music could still be broken down to classic rock, hard rock, or alternative rock genres.
Topic: Books, Fiction, American literature, Music, Art
Language: English
Lexile: 860L
Audio
Video
The Reinvention of Normal Grade Level: 3-5 6-8 9-12
The Reinvention of Normal Grade Level: 3-5 6-8 9-12
The Reinvention of Normal: Dominic Wilcox’s Quest for New Ideas. “Quiet, shy children do a lot of work in their heads,” says British artist, inventor, and designer Dominic Wilcox. That describes Wilcox, and he is always on the lookout for new inspiration. “The Reinvention of Normal” is a mini-documentary about Wilcox and his quest for new ideas. You’ll see some of his unusual animation in this video, along with how he overcomes the creative block that occasionally appears. Some of his whimsical objects include toothbrush maracas, an umbrella with potted plants atop it, a smoothie blender and soccer ball all in one, and more.
Topic: Imagination, Art
Language: English
Lexile: 950L
Video
Scratch Garden Grade Level: PreK-2 3-5
Scratch Garden Grade Level: PreK-2 3-5
Do you need help remembering things about grammar and English, math, science, art, or social science? These website presents all kinds of concepts through videos and songs. In the English videos, learn about prepositions, syllables, contractions, punctuation, vowels, and more. The math videos sing about counting, patterns, shapes, and spelling numbers. Learn about the seasons and the sun in the science videos. Social science has a geography video. Art sings about colors, value, and lines, and the day-to-day videos are about manners, months, and left versus right.
Topic: Language arts, Counting, Patterns (Mathematics), Art, Educational games
Language: English
Music
Video
Educational game
Report abuse