Embedded Files
MLA Documentation Guide Grade Level: 6-8 9-12
MLA Documentation Guide Grade Level: 6-8 9-12
If you are struggling with how to use MLA documentation, this site from The University of Wisconsin-Madison, can explain this documentation style. Guidelines are given for creating an MLA parenthetical citation. A table shows how to cite different types of sources. Find out how to format quotations and how to abbreviate references. Specific examples are given for creating a MLA Works Cited page for an article, short story, book, electronic source, and more. A great deal of additional information about writing can be found here in the Writer's Handbook.
Topic: Bibliographical citations
Language: English
Lexile: 1490L
URL: http://www.wisc.edu
Citing Sources Grade Level: 6-8 9-12
Citing Sources Grade Level: 6-8 9-12
The importance of citing sources in a paper in order to avoid plagiarism is of the utmost importance. By following guidelines as indicted on this web site from Duke University, students can learn to correctly give credit to the author of their sources. This web site has a section about citing sources within the paper and another section on how to list the works cited. Within each section are a number of specific examples to help writers organize and write their bibliography.
Topic: Bibliographical citations
Language: English
APA Formatting Guidelines Grade Level: 6-8 9-12
APA Formatting Guidelines Grade Level: 6-8 9-12
Learn about formatting your research paper at this web site. This site provides style guidelines based on the APA (American Psychological Association) editorial style. Learn how to properly format your title page. Read how to use page numbers and page headers. See how to correctly use indentations, tables, and figures. The site explains what type of typeface you should use, as well as what font size to use. All of these guidelines are intended to help you develop a clean, clear, easy to read, paper.
Topic: Bibliographical citations
Language: English
Lexile: 1570L
Bibliographic Blunders Grade Level: 3-5 6-8
Bibliographic Blunders Grade Level: 3-5 6-8
When you do research, you need to keep track of the sources you use so you can create a bibliography, or a works cited page, for your project. One way to do that is to use note or source cards. Learn about the Modern Language Association (MLA) method of works citation. Most teachers prefer this style. Find out what information you need to include and what punctuation to use for a book, an encyclopedia, and a web page. Click on the camera icons to advance the lessons.
Topic: Bibliographical citations
Language: English
Lexile: 790L
Interactive
MLA Citation Style Grade Level: 6-8 9-12
MLA Citation Style Grade Level: 6-8 9-12
Cornell University has compiled information to make writing a bibliography or works cited page virtually painless. Readers will find information about how to cite sources within the text of their paper, and also how to compile a list of sources for a bibliography or works cited page. This web site contains many examples of citations for almost every kind of book, journal, magazine, or government document. This site also contains information about citing online sources that may be used.
Topic: Bibliographical citations Language: English Lexile: 1170L
URL: http://www.library.cornell.edu
Harvard Referencing Generator Grade Level: 9-12
Harvard Referencing Generator Grade Level: 9-12
The easiest way to cite your APA or Harvard Referencing is by using the CiteThisForMe tool. This interactive feature allows you to choose a source from nineteen available citation sources such as books, newspapers, journals, or web sites. Once you make a selection you will be asked to fill in the details about your sources and CiteThisForMe will format them for you. When you have finished you will find all of your references listed in alphabetical order.
Topic: Bibliographical citations
Language: English
Interactive
APA Formatting and Style Guide Grade Level: 6-8 9-12
APA Formatting and Style Guide Grade Level: 6-8 9-12
This web site, provided by the University of Minnesota, offers a concise reference guide for using the American Psychological Association APA Format. Visit this site and you will find many common examples. Some of these examples include referencing a journal article with one author, a journal article with two authors, and a magazine article with many authors. You can also see examples for referencing electronic sources, such as internet articles, web pages, and personal communications.
Topic: Bibliographical citations
Language: English
Lexile: 1060L
APA Style.org Grade Level: 6-8 9-12
APA Style.org Grade Level: 6-8 9-12
Go to this web site to learn all about using the American Psychological Association APA Format. This is not a writing style, but an editorial style used to cite references. The style consists of rules and guidelines so that the presentation of the reference material is clear and consistent among all authors. The guidelines include using punctuation, abbreviations, tables, headings, and presenting statistics. This style is not only used in psychology; many different fields have adopted it.
Topic: Bibliographical citations
Language: English
Lexile: 1650L
What Is Citation? Grade Level: 6-8 9-12
What Is Citation? Grade Level: 6-8 9-12
A citation tells about the sources you used for your writing. Each citation includes the author, title, publisher, publishing date, and page numbers if applicable. It allows the readers to go back and look for more information from your sources. Proper citation avoids plagiarism, sets apart your original ideas from those of others, and puts the responsibility for bad ideas in their proper place. It shows the work you put into your research. You should use a citation when your quote, paraphrase, or borrow an idea from someone else. Citations are also used when you describe someone's research.
Topic: Bibliographical citations
Language: English
Citation Styles Handbook Grade Level: 9-12
Citation Styles Handbook Grade Level: 9-12
The University Of Illinois' Writers' Workshop page presents the style manuals for the standard MLA format (Modern Languages Format) and the APA (American Psychological Association). Each manual is presented in an outline form, letting the user click to find the exact citation format required. Current rules for citing sources from the Internet are included.
Topic: Bibliographical citations, Authorship--Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Language: English
Lexile: 1090L
Landmarks Citation Machine Grade Level: 6-8 9-12
Landmarks Citation Machine Grade Level: 6-8 9-12
A useful online tool called the Citation Machine can assist you when you need to give proper credit to the information sources used in your writing projects. Using the Citation Machine is easy. Just find the type of either print or electronic resource you wish to cite. Click on that resource, and a window opens. Inside that window, there are blank boxes where you enter the necessary information about the source. In addition to books and Internet sites, there is also information on how to cite newspaper articles, recorded interviews, presentations, and more.
Topic: Bibliographical citations
Language: English
A Research Guide for Students Grade Level: 9-12
A Research Guide for Students Grade Level: 9-12
Explore search engines, writing style guidelines, and a virtual library of great educational websites in this informative introduction to student Internet research. Pour over loads of information as you learn about research papers, public speaking, plagiarism, footnotes, references, bibliographies, and abbreviations. Discover how to survive the Internet jungle as you surf sites and analyze accuracy. Protect your private information as you travel the Internet highway. Use the Dewey Decimal system and subject headings to find places to begin your search of the virtual world.
Topic: Bibliographical citations, Research papers
Language: English
Lexile: 1260L
APA Style Grade Level: 3-5 6-8 9-12
APA Style Grade Level: 3-5 6-8 9-12
Did your teacher ask you to use the APA format? If so, this is a specific editorial style used to cite your references. APA stands for the American Psychological Association. If you used electronic references in your research, for instance, you used an online document or an online periodical, this web site will show you examples for citing these references in your research paper. Since electronic media is constantly changing, this web page is updated frequently to reflect these changes.
Topic: Bibliographical citations
Language: English
Lexile: 1050L
How to Read Citations in Texts and Bibliographies Grade Level: 9-12
How to Read Citations in Texts and Bibliographies Grade Level: 9-12
A citation refers to text either within the document, at the foot of the page, or a bibliography at the end. Each of these citation formats tell you, the reader, where all the information within the text came from. An in-text citation is surrounded by parentheses. It will contain the author of the book or article, the title, volume, and issue. It’s a little different for magazines as opposed to books. A citation not only acknowledges the original author of the information, but gives a reader a chance to look up the primary source. A transcript of the video is included on the webpage.
Topic: Bibliographical citations
Language: English
Lexile: 1070L
Video
Report abuse